SOUTH YORKSHIRE PENSIONS AUTHORITY

20 JUNE 2013

PRESENT: Councillor K Goulty (Chair) Councillor R Wraith (Vice-Chair) Councillors: M Lawton, D Baker, E Butler, J Campbell, B Ford, K Richardson, K Rodgers, L Rooney, A Sangar and P Wootton

Trade Unions: G Warwick (GMB)

Officers: G Chapman (Head of Pensions Administration), J Hattersley (Fund Director), M McCoole (Senior Democratic Services Officer), M Oades (Deputy Clerk & Monitoring Officer) and R Bywater (Principal Policy and External Relations Officer)

Apologies for absence were received from G Boyington and S Pick

1 APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIR OF THE AUTHORITY FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

Councillor Goulty was proposed and seconded as Chair of the Authority for the next year.

Councillor Lawton thanked Members and officers for their help during his time as Chair over the last two years.

Councillor Wraith gave thanks to Councillor Lawton, on behalf of Members, for all of his work as Chair.

RESOLVED – That Councillor K Goulty be elected Chair of the Authority for the ensuing year.

2 <u>APPOINTMENT OF THE VICE-CHAIR OF THE AUTHORITY FOR THE ENSUING</u> <u>YEAR</u>

RESOLVED – That Councillor R Wraith be elected Vice-Chair of the Authority for the ensuing year.

3 MEMBERSHIP OF THE AUTHORITY

A report of the Clerk and Treasurer was submitted, which reported on the membership of the Authority.

The current membership of the Authority was as follows:-

Barnsley Councillors	Doncaster Councillors	Rotherham Councillors	Sheffield Councillors
K Richardson	E Butler	K Goulty	D Baker
R Wraith	B Ford	P Wootton	J Campbell
	K Rodgers		M Lawton

	L Rooney
	A Sangar

RESOLVED – That the report be noted.

4 APPOINTMENT OF BOARDS, COMMITTEE AND CHAIRS

A report of the Clerk and Treasurer was submitted to consider the appointment of Boards, Committee and Chairs for 2013/14.

The current membership and Chairs of the two Boards and Management Committee are shown below:-

Corporate Planning and Governance Board	Investment Board	Management Committee
7 members	7 members	Section 41 members
Councillor R Wraith (Chair)	Councillor K Goulty (Chair)	Councillor K Goulty (Chair) Sub Councillor P Wootton
Councillor K Goulty (Vice Chair)	Councillor R Wraith (Vice Chair)	Councillor M Lawton Sub Councillor J Campbell
Councillor D Baker	Councillor M Lawton	Councillor R Wraith Sub Councillor K Richardson
Councillor E Butler	Councillor J Campbell	Councillor K Rodgers Sub Councillor B Ford
Councillor R Ford	Councillor K Rodgers	
Councillor L Rooney	Councillor K Richardson	
Councillor P Wootton	Councillor A Sangar	
And three trades unions representatives	And three trades unions representatives	

RESOLVED – That the report be noted.

5 QUESTIONS IN MEETINGS OF THE DISTRICT COUNCILS

A report of the Clerk and Treasurer was submitted to consider the appointment of representatives of the Authority to answer questions raised in meetings of the District Councils and to feedback District Council pensions issues at each meeting of the Pensions Authority.

RESOLVED – That the Authority nominated the following Members to answer questions at District Councils under Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985, as follows:-

Council	Spokesperson	Substitute
Barnsley MBC	Councillor R Wraith	Councillor K Richardson
Doncaster MBC	Councillor K Rodgers	Councillor B Ford
Rotherham MBC	Councillor K Goulty	Councillor P Wootton

Sheffield CC Councillor M Lawton Councillor J Campbell			
	Sheffield CC	Councillor M Lawton	Councillor J Campbell

CHAIR